Blogger’s Choice: How Often Do You Upgrade?

By Brenda Bethman

If you’re an Apple lover (or even not), you might have noticed that they had a little event today at which they unveiled a new “iPad Air” and an iPad Mini retina. Prior to the event, I had sworn that nothing would tempt me to upgrade as I just purchased my iPad Mini last December and it sill works just fine (a little laggy on iOS 7, but otherwise fine).

Of course, I said the same thing prior to the event in September, when the new iPhones were announced, but nonetheless found myself getting up in the middle of the night to order a new iPhone 5S. Normally, I upgrade every two years, but in this case, I was able to sell my old phone for enough to cover the new one — and I had such horrible battery problems with the 5 that I wanted to get on the S-upgrade cycle. I’m glad I did it, but don’t see myself doing an upgrade after only one year again.

Nonetheless, the lure of the retina iPad Mini is strong considering that I use it almost exclusively for reading. The state of my bank account, however, says that I will probably end up waiting for a while on this one.

What about you? How often do you upgrade your technology?

Blogger’s Choice: How Often Do You Upgrade?

Leave a Reply

